Her Renaissance: Part 4

Surprisingly, Cantankerous Decadence was not that bad of a band. They could all play their instruments with a considerable amount of proficiency. I believe that their main weakness though, is that they are all complete morons. Absolute idiots. Couldn’t play for two minutes without shouting at each other. Alex and Eddie, at least. 

Lola, on the other hand, was definitely not what I had been expecting. What I had expected to see, was some punk, goth chick who could hit things with sticks. But the gorgeous, blonde, model like girl on the other side of the drum set, was nowhere close to being described as punk. She was a little out there though, in terms of personality. 

“You got that bass line all wrong, Alex,” Eddie sighed, tuning his guitar. Apparently, he had a habit of not looking at people when he insulted them. And since most of what he could accomplish saying (other than flirting) is insults, he does not look at you that often. 

“Well, once you screwed up your guitar riff and couldn’t get back on beat yourself, how’d you expect me to figure out how to play with you?” Alex responded.

“I couldn’t get back on beat because you kept screwing around, my friend,” Eddie countered. This continued for quite a while, and so I decided to go take the opportunity to get to know Lola. 

“Hi, I’m Rosalind,” I said, introducing myself to her, despite the fact that Alex had already introduced us. I just felt as though I had to introduce myself. 

“Rosalind, what a pretty name. Like rose. I like roses. They’re pretty and smell very nice. Lovely flowers, roses,” Lola responded, dreamily. Yep, definitely a little out there. But I guess it would take someone who’s a little weird to be willing to put up with the constant bickering between Eddie and Alex. 

That I decided, was the end of that conversation, as Lola did not appear to have any intention of speaking to me. She was actually kind of adorable, though. 

“I think you guys really need a singer. You’re never going to get anywhere with just being an instrumental rock band,” I said once Eddie and Alex were out of different ways of saying the same thing. The band itself though, as far as I could tell, was an alternative rock cover band, which would explain Eddie’s interest in The Killers. 

“You wanna know why we’re never gonna get big? Because this guy’s ego is too big, and he’s an arrogant bastard who doesn’t think of anyone but himself!” Alex declared, pointing at Eddie, who appeared to be deep in thought (and completely ignoring Alex). 

“And yet you’re still best friends. Best friends. Friends forever. Love, love, love!” Lola interjected dazedly. 

“Sing,” Eddie said, from out of nowhere. For a couple of seconds I thought he was talking to Alex or Lola, but then I realized that he was looking directly at me. And he doesn’t look at people. So apparently, he was serious. 

“Me? Really? No. I don’t sing. Sorry,” I replied, giggling anxiously. The Satanic whims of this boy were not going to get me to sing. Never. 

“Fifty dollars, up front, for you to sing one song with us. Based on the tone and pitch in which you speak, I believe that you, potentially, can sing. So sing,” Eddie elaborated. I mean, fifty dollars? Was this guy loaded or something? Well, who the hell wouldn’t turn down that offer?

“Alright, give me the fifty dollars,” I said, and he actually took a fifty dollar bill out of his jean pocket, and gave it to me. Apparently, he’s minted. 

“Fabulous, Mr. Brightside, hit it,” he proclaimed. 

“Wait up, I’m singing. I choose the song. Mr Brightside, hit it,” I interjected before anyone could start playing. 

“But that’s what I-” Eddie started, and I felt an amazing sense of pride wash over me. I had made Eddie mad. 

Leave a comment